• Ashley Baker

Memo from Conservative Leaders: The Senate Must Confirm All Nominees Before Adjournment

As Congress prepares its agenda for the upcoming lame duck session, conservatives urge Senate leadership to confirm all remaining nominees before adjourning for the year.

Senate Republican leadership has done yeoman’s work in confirming two Supreme Court justices and a host of appellate judges. However, 178 nominations are still pending in the Senate. 72 of them are judges – over 50 of them at the district court level.

While appellate judges are important, district judges also hold sway and significance over the integrity of the judiciary. Many district judges go on to be nominated to the appellate level. Moreover, activist district judges have increasingly been playing a larger role in national legal debates with the issuance of national injunctions. Having conservative judges who hew to an originalist interpretation of their role will hopefully combat the frequency of a single district judge making policy for an entire nation.

Moreover, President Trump needs his executive appointees to ensure that agencies across the government are implementing his agenda, rather than seeking to subvert it. Quick confirmation of these nominees is essential to make sure the president is able to do his job.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell has promised to do everything he can to confirm solid conservative judges to the bench, and we applaud him for his efforts this year to do so. However, with hundreds of judges and executive branch nominees still awaiting confirmation, there is still much work to be done.

We strongly urge the Senate to continue its work and prioritize all remaining confirmations before adjourning for the year.


The Honorable Edwin Meese III

Attorney General

President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)

Tom McClusky


March for Life Action

Cleta Mitchell, Esq.


Foley & Lardner LLP

Ginni Thomas


Liberty Consulting, Inc.

The Honorable Jim DeMint

Member, South Carolina

United States Senate (2005-2013)

Ed Corrigan

Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project

Executive Director, Senate Steering Committee (2003-2012)

Noah Wall

Vice President of Advocacy


The Honorable Bob McEwen

Member, Ohio

U.S. House of Representatives (1981-1993)

Lisa B. Nelson

Chief Executive Officer

American Legislative Exchange Council

William L. Walton


CNP Action, Inc.

The Honorable David McIntosh


Club for Growth

Matt Schlapp


American Conservative Union (ACU)

Dan Schneider

Executive Director

American Conservative Union (ACU)

Martha Boneta



Rick Manning


Americans for Limited Government

Bob Carlstrom


The Carlstrom Group, LLC

Gary Marx

Senior Advisor

Judicial Crisis Network

John Scribante

Executive Committee Member

Council for National Policy

Dr. Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.

Founder and CEO


Kelly Shackelford


First Liberty Institute

Lew Uhler


National Tax Limitation Committee

Kay R. Daly


Coalition for a Fair Judiciary

Rebekah Gantner

Executive Director, Eagle Forum Education & Legal Defense Fund

Rebecca Hagelin


Council for National Policy

Joseph A. Morris

Attorney - Partner

Morris & De La Rosa

Seton Motley


Less Government

Dr. Rick Scarborough


Vision America

Allen Hebert

President and Chairman

American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston

James L. Martin


60 Plus Association

Saulius "Saul" Anuzis


60 Plus Association

Roxanne Phillips

Member, Executive Committee

Council for National Policy

The Honorable Somers White


Former AZ State Senator

Robert K. Fischer

Meeting Coordinator

Conservatives of Faith

Tim Wildmon


American Family Association

Jack Park

Conservative Activist and Donor

Curt Levey


Committee for Justice

Quin Hillyer

Veteran conservative columnist

Dr. Richard Rounsavelle


Media Research Center

Donna Hearne


Constitutional Coalition

Judson Phillips


Tea Party Nation

Dr. William Ames Curtright, DBA


Ames Research Laboratories, Inc.

The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.

Managing Editor


Olivia Marie Brown


Arizona Christian University

Susan A. Carleson


American Civil Rights Union

Mat Staver

Founder and Chairman

Liberty Counsel

Ralph A. Rebandt, II

Lead Pastor

Oakland Hills Community Church

Robert Alt

President & CEO

The Buckeye Institute

Carolee Adams


Eagle Forum of New Jersey

Ralph Benko

Political Columnist

Alfred S. Regnery

Chairman, Conservative Action Project

Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund

The Honorable Colin A. Hanna


Let Freedom Ring, Inc.

Diana Banister

President and Partner

Shirley & Banister Public Affairs

The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.

Chief Domestic Advisor

President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)