• Ashley Baker

Memo from Conservative Leaders in Support of Brett Kavanaugh

The Committee for Justice joined the Conservative Action Project and a group of more than 100 conservative leaders in releasing a memo in support of the confirmation of Judge Brett Kavanaugh to the United States Supreme Court.

The full text of the letter can be found below or in PDF form here.


July 18, 2018 Washington, DC Signatures updated 7/19/18

We strongly endorse the nomination of the Honorable Brett Kavanaugh to the Supreme Court of the United States and urge the Senate to confirm him with haste.

Conservatives believe the United States Constitution is the ultimate authority for the interpretation of American law. Conservatives therefore enthusiastically agreed with the commitment by candidate Trump, and now-President Trump, that appointees to the Supreme Court of the United States should be committed to applying the Constitution to cases that come before the Court.

By nominating Judge Brett Kavanaugh for the Supreme Court, President Trump chose a candidate whose attributes have been described as “very much in the mold of Justice Scalia,” who was committed to applying and interpreting the Constitution as written.

Throughout his career on the bench, Judge Kavanaugh’s opinions have reflected thoughtful, precise and clear language in support of the original intent of the Constitution, the separation of powers, federalism, religious freedom, political speech rights guaranteed by the First Amendment, and constitutional limitations on the expansion of the administrative state.

Judge Kavanaugh clearly set forth his judicial philosophy when he wrote, “The judge’s job is to interpret the law, not to make the law or make policy. So read the words of the statute as written. Read the text of the Constitution as written, mindful of history and tradition. Don’t make up new constitutional rights that are not in the text of the Constitution. Don’t shy away from enforcing constitutional rights that are in the text of the Constitution.”

Judge Kavanaugh’s credentials are impeccable and rival those of sitting justices – a degree from Yale Law School; clerkships with three federal judges; twelve years as a sitting Federal Court of Appeals Judge, and time spent in other significant roles of public service. He is certainly qualified.

The United States Senate should carry out its Constitutional role in a timely manner. President Trump’s nominee merits the timely advice and consent of the Senate so that the Supreme Court will have a full complement of nine sitting justices when the next term of the Court begins on October 1, 2018.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III Former Attorney General President Ronald Reagan

Alfred S. Regnery Chairman, Conservative Action Project Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund

Jenny Beth Martin Chairman Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund

Adam Brandon President FreedomWorks

Thomas Fitton President Judicial Watch, Inc.

The Honorable Bob McEwen U.S. House of Representatives Former Member, Ohio

The Honorable David McIntosh President Club for Growth

The Honorable Colin A. Hanna President Let Freedom Ring, Inc.

The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr. Former Chief Domestic Advisor President Ronald Reagan

Diana Banister President and Partner Shirley & Banister Public Affairs

The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell Chairman Constitutional Congress, Inc.

Cleta Mitchell, Esq. Partner Foley & Lardner LLP

Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.) Executive Vice President Family Research Council

William L. Walton Chairman CNP Action, Inc.

Marjorie Dannenfelser President Susan B. Anthony List

The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop Former White House Advisor President Ronald Reagan

Lisa B. Nelson

The Honorable Jim DeMint United States Senate Former Member, South Carolina

Rebecca Hagelin Secretary Council for National Policy

Ron Robinson President Young America’s Foundation

James L. Martin Founder/Chairman 60 Plus Association

Kevin Brown COO The King’s College

Gary Marx Senior Advisor Judicial Crisis Network

Peter J. Thomas Chairman The Conservative Caucus

C. Preston Noell III President Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Kristan Hawkins President Students for Life of America

Charles Copeland President Intercollegiate Studies Institute