• Ashley Baker

Trump Administration’s Regulatory Reform Should Reject Preemptive Vetoes

Conservatives applaud the recent action by the Trump Administration’s Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to undo the preemptive veto of the Pebble Mine in Southwest Alaska.

The Obama Administration took unprecedented steps to preemptively block the issuance of Section 404 permits—the Clean Water Act permits required to begin most mining and infrastructure projects—before they were even reviewed.

In doing so, the previous administration empowered EPA bureaucrats well beyond their constitutional authority, putting thousands of jobs across the country and in all sectors of the economy at risk.

The EPA has an important role to play in protecting the environment, and its role is clearly defined in the process outlined in the National Environmental Policy Act. But allowing preemptive vetoes—a step never before taken in the 45-year history of the Clean Water Act—is a blatant abuse of authority.

A project’s permitting should be based upon a proper environmental review process, not the politics of a president.

We urge the Trump Administration to continue to stand up for the protection of private property rights and due process, and undo and prohibit future abusive preemptive vetoes.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III

Attorney General

President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)

The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop

White House Advisor

President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)

The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell


The Leadership Institute

Noah Wall

Vice President of Advocacy


Jenny Beth Martin


Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund

The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.

Chief Domestic Advisor

President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)

The Honorable Bob McEwen

U.S. House of Representatives

Former Member, Ohio

The Honorable David McIntosh


Club for Growth

The Honorable Tony Perkins


Family Research Council

David Bozell



Ed Corrigan

Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project and Executive Director, Conservative Partnership Institute

Matt Schlapp


American Conservative Union (ACU)

Lewis K. Uhler

Founder and President

National Tax Limitation Committee

Norm Singleton


Campaign for Liberty

Thomas Pyle


American Energy Alliance

Phil Kerpen


American Commitment

Ed Martin


Phyllis Schlafly Eagles

Sean Noble


American Encore

Dr. Jerome R. Corsi

Founder and CEO


Joan Holt Lindsey